Scarlet Lies

Scarlet Lies

Historical Romance

eBook - 2019
Rate this:
A Missing Heiress, a Gambling-Hall Hostess, and a Seductress Vie to Take Down a Millionaire in Jo Goodman's Scarlet Lies -- 1868, on the Mississippi and 1872, San Francisco -- Brooklyn Hancock, accomplice to her swindling partner and protector, meets her match in Ryland North. When he turns the tables on her aboard a Mississippi sternwheeler, she manages to escape, believing she murdered Ryland. Four years later, Ryland North is investigating the disappearance of an heiress while also being asked by his aunt and uncle to dissuade their son from marrying a gambling-hall hostess. When he finds the gambling-hall hostess, Ryland recognizes her immediately as Brooklyn and sets about trying to save his cousin from falling for her lies. When the wedding is called off, Ryland considers his mission accomplished. Until he again encounters Brooklyn only to learn the truth and discover that it's he and Brooklyn that have been deceived and that she's in serious danger. Now they face a new reality. Ryland struggles to trust the woman who nearly murdered him as Brooklyn's thoughts turn from escape to surrender. Publisher Note: For new and old fans of Jo Goodman comes one of her classic works, freshly edited by Jo Goodman for today's audience. Fans of Mary Jo Putney, Kat Martin, Jo Beverley, Courtney Milan and Kaki Warner will enjoy this spirited adventure and romance. "Delightful and exciting ... Goodman holds the suspense as well as the surprises and never lets up on the passion." ~RT Book Reviews "Goodman is a thoughtful and intelligent writer who can make her characters live and breathe on the page." ~All About Romance "A perfect treat for readers who enjoy smart, sensual love stories à la Amanda Quick." ~Book List "A tender, engaging romance and a dash of risk in a totally compelling read." ~Library Journal "For the pure joy of reading a romance, this book comes close to perfection." ~Dear Author Also By Jo Goodman: Scarlet Lies Sweet Fire THE MCCLELLANS Crystal Passion Seaswept Abandon Tempting Torment THE HAMILTON FAMILY More Than You Know More Than You Wished THE COMPASS CLUB Let Me Be The One Everything I Ever Wanted All I Ever Needed Beyond A Wicked Kiss THE DENNEHY SISTERS Only My Love My Heart's Desire Forever in My Heart Always in My Dreams Only in My Arms THE MARSHALL BROTHERS Her Defiant Heart His Heart's Revenge THE THORNE BROTHERS TRILOGY My Steadfast Heart My Reckless.
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] :, ePublishing Works!,, [2019]
Edition: Author's Cut Edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781644570036
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE eBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource (440 pages)
data file,rda


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at NWPL

To Top