Then She Was Gone

Then She Was Gone

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
42
"Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell--perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty. Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her. And then she was gone. Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It's been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie's case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a cafe, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she's meeting Floyd's daughters--and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel's breath away. Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she's tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?"--
Publisher: New York :, Atria Books,, 2018
Edition: First Atria books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781501154645
1501154648
Branch Call Number: FIC Jewe
Characteristics: 359 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
kristadarling
May 07, 2019

Still reading it at the moment, but its making me incredibly sad. Surprised I don't see that more in the comments, really hoping for some closure at the end.

c
Chambers120
Apr 16, 2019

Very well done. Things got going early on in the book, some people may have guess on what happens others do not. I think it was very well written and a good simple mystery.

p
p33atti
Apr 11, 2019

Read this for last month's Book Club read. It was interesting though fairly predictable. I too was able to guess "what was what" and "who was who" pretty early on, as other reviewers have mentioned.
All in all, I'd recommend it to anyone looking for an easily read distraction <3

r
robinwalthery
Feb 12, 2019

Dawn Huntington mentioned reading this one...

m
michelleritchie
Feb 11, 2019

Whenever people say that they read something in one day I wonder what type of superhuman reader they are and also, how do I get free time like that to read ALL DAY? And then I read this in one day so I finally understand. All in it was probably 5 hours of reading on a cold and snowy Sunday. I gave it 3 stars because I wanted to read it all day, it was catchy and interesting. It lost 2 stars because it was so predictable, and I was disappointed that I predicted it. It wasn't predictable from page one, but relatively early I was putting the pieces together. I was waiting to be surprised, I wanted a twist! This is a super easy read, my family was watching TV and I was sitting there reading beside them not even distracted. Or maybe the book is so catchy that you get absorbed in it? Either way, good easy read.
I would recommend this book for the following things: Getting back into reading if you are in a slump; on vacation and want something easy; or like me, just coping with February weather in Canada and want to sit inside and be engrossed in a good book :) Totally not worth buying but if you get a copy from the Library then you will be satisfied.

d
dannimcq
Jan 31, 2019

A very easy read with some interesting twists and turns. I found that it lacked depth though... and was quite predictable.

GarsonLibraryTina Jan 29, 2019

I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read, and although it had a mystery/thriller element to it, I think I would classify it more as domestic fiction, but overall it was quite enjoyable. The characters were engaging and the plot was well-done, but parts of the story were heartbreaking. I have to admit that this book made me cry! I will definitely be reading more titles by this author.

LVCCLD_LeahNOTLeia Jan 29, 2019

What happened to you Ellie?

n
Nrongos
Jan 23, 2019

This was a great book! As I was reading it I actually felt like the author made me feel like I was in the book. It was definitely a good read.

b
beakir
Jan 18, 2019

Fast paced. A good, fun read.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top