Then She Was Gone

Then She Was Gone

Book - 2018 | First Atria books hardcover edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
74
1
"Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell--perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty. Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her. And then she was gone. Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It's been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie's case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a cafe, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she's meeting Floyd's daughters--and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel's breath away. Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she's tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?"--
Publisher: New York :, Atria Books,, 2018
Edition: First Atria books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781501154645
1501154648
Branch Call Number: FIC Jewe
Characteristics: 359 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
chamb6512
Apr 12, 2021

I couldn't put this book down, however i felt like it was over the top. It was too gross, and depressing. It is an upsetting story and to think this was all happening down the street from the girls family.

p
pterry4303
Mar 31, 2021

Very nicely done. Easyc. to read, et

m
MrsRedbeard
Mar 30, 2021

An enjoyable read. Some things were a bit predictable, but still plenty of surprises. Keeps the reader engaged, and turning the pages.

l
lcurrie5167
Mar 06, 2021

I honestly don't understand how so many people enjoyed this book. I found the plot to be predictable and somewhat unbelievable.. I have a hard time fathoming a 16 year old being impregnated by a psychotic woman with a turkey baster. For the amount of hype that was made about this book I didn't find that it lived up to its potential.

f
faithSR34
Dec 31, 2020

Could not put this down. Fabulous!!!

h
Horseshoe
Nov 20, 2020

I really enjoyed this book. I read it in two days as I couldn't put it down. The suspense builds as you read on. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

r
rafrenette
Nov 10, 2020

Read this in a matter of days! Awesome read with so many twists and surprises...I may have found my new favorite author.

Sansha Nov 04, 2020

Loved this psychological thriller, with a twist.

r
Reads_A_Lot
Oct 19, 2020

This domestic, psychological drama was a good page turner. A little bit of a different twist on the missing daughter/grieving mother plot. Written in a way that keeps you engrossed which makes it a quick read.

e
EljayJohnson
Oct 10, 2020

I certainly like thrillers sometimes and in this year of reading a ridiculous number of books, I've read more than I usually do. And I've discovered that I like them well-written and gritty (Gillian Flynn and Do Not Be Alarmed come to mind), or literary (Tana French), or wildly over the top (like My Lovely Wife) or solidly well-written, clever, and atmospheric (Jane Harper, the Kate Burkholder series). It's the middle of the road ones (Riley Sager, The Silent Patient, Jar of Hearts) that bore and annoy me with their shoddy writing and not even a finger-hold in reality. If only I could be sure what I was getting when I start a book! Anyway, this falls in the solid, well-written category and it's probably a 3.5 star rating for me. Like in dozens of other books of this ilk, there's a missing girl and while Jewell doesn't necessarily do anything ground-breaking with that, she wrote a page-turning, immersive story with clearly delineated characters I believed in.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
l
lauriechip
Sep 04, 2019

lauriechip thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top