The Wishing Thread

The Wishing Thread

A Novel

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERUSA TODAY BESTSELLER"Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You're going to love this book."—Debbie MacomberFor fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Sarah Addison Allen, The Wishing Thread is an enchanting novel about the bonds between sisters, the indelible pull of the past, and the transformational power of love. The Van Ripper women have been the talk of Tarrytown, New York, for centuries. Some say they're angels; some say they're crooks. In their tumbledown "Stitchery," not far from the stomping grounds of the legendary Headless Horseman, the Van Ripper sisters—Aubrey, Bitty, and Meggie—are said to knit people's most ardent wishes into beautiful scarves and mittens, granting them health, success, or even a blossoming romance. But for the magic to work, sacrifices must be made—and no one knows that better than the Van Rippers. When the Stitchery matriarch, Mariah, dies, she leaves the yarn shop to her three nieces. Aubrey, shy and reliable, has dedicated her life to weaving spells for the community, though her sisters have long stayed away. Bitty, pragmatic and persistent, has always been skeptical of magic and wants her children to have a normal, nonmagical life. Meggie, restless and free-spirited, follows her own set of rules. Now, after Mariah's death forces a reunion, the sisters must reassess the state of their lives even as they decide the fate of the Stitchery. But their relationships with one another—and their beliefs in magic—are put to the test. Will the threads hold?BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Lisa Van Allen's The Night Garden.Praise for The Wishing Thread "With deft needlework, a dash of folklore, and some good old-fashioned family angst, Lisa Van Allen knits together the threads of second chances, the pleasure of giving, the complications of sisterhood, and love. There's a bit of magic in The Wishing Thread, in the words and the story as well as in the yarn."—Meg Waite Clayton, author of The Wednesday Sisters "Rich in myth and mystery, The Wishing Thread explores the tangle that is being a woman—from family and friendship to romance and community. Prepare to be ensnared, enthralled, enchanted!"—USA Today bestselling author Christie Ridgway "The Wishing Thread is a lyrical, emotional, finely knit portrayal of three sisters struggling with love, magic and sacrifice. This is the best book I've read all year."—Lisa Verge Higgins, author of The Proper Care and Maintenance of Friendship "An intriguing story of three sisters tied by blood and a strange inheritance, each searching for a way to belong in that place where magic and life intersect. Wonderful!"—Shelley Noble, author of Beach Colors "Van Allen knits together this pleasantly entertaining tale as easily as the Van Ripper women knit together the often unraveling threads of people's lives. . . . Chick-lit cozy meets magical realism with inevitably warm and fuzzy results."—Booklist "Fans of magical realism will want to pick up this enjoyable novel, which not only weaves magic through stitchery, but also weaves a realistic story about family and sisterhood and the threads that pull us back home."—RT Book ReviewsIncludes an exclusive conversation between Sarah Addison Allen and Lisa Van Allen. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
Publisher: 2013
ISBN: 9780345537829
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE eBOOK
Characteristics: data file,rda
1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

LaughingOne Apr 17, 2015

Took me a bit to really get into this story but I finally did, and enjoyed it. It's a bit hard to tell when the story takes place as much seems quite old-fashioned but a bit is more contemporary. It is a slow read, but worth it.

amodolo Oct 16, 2013

This book was not what I was expecting. I'm not sure exactly what I was thinking about going in, a lot more about knitting, but this is a book about what ties people together, and I loved how the idea of knitting was tied into the story. This was definitely a beautiful story that had me tearing up at times, the emotions of the characters really come out. Van Allen shows readers that family will always be there for one another.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top