Echoes of Sherlock Holmes

Echoes of Sherlock Holmes

Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
In this follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, expert Sherlockians Laurie King and Les Klinger put forth the question: What happens when great writers/creators who are not known as Sherlock Holmes devotees admit to being inspired by Conan Doyle stories? While some are highly-regarded mystery writers, others are best known for their work in the fields of fantasy or science fiction. All of these talented authors, however, share a great admiration for Arthur Conan Doyle and his greatest creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.To the editors' great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives themselves inspired by Holmes's adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents. Other characters from the Holmes stories are explored, and even non-Holmesian tales by Conan Doyle are echoed. The variations are endless!Although not a formal collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories--however some do fit that mold--instead these writers were asked to be inspired by the Conan Doyle canon. The results are breathtaking, for fans of Holmes and Watson as well as readers new to Doyle's writing--indeed, for all readers who love exceptional storytelling.
Publisher: New York :, Pegasus Crime,, 2016
Edition: First Pegasus Books cloth edition
ISBN: 9781681772257
1681772256
Branch Call Number: SS Echo
Characteristics: xiii, 348 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jenniferrabbit
Jan 02, 2017

It's unusual for me to like all the stories in a compendium, but this was a really splendid collection. Avoiding competing directly with Conon Doyle, many of these works feature modern day characters following Sherlock's methods in various intriguing circumstances. Others enter into Sherlock's world coming at the famous detective from the point of view of a totally unexpected/unrelated character. As is my usual approach to a short story collection I started with the authors I'm familiar with (Cory Doctorow, Ann Perry, William Kent Krueger) and went on to less familiar authors, prepared to abandon the book if the unknowns did not catch my fancy. In this case I read the rest of the authors with great enjoyment, and made a list of them so I can try their other work. A great read, ten stars!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top