You

You

A Novel

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
38
8
1
NOW A HIT NETFLIX SERIES A NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER "Hypnotic and scary." —Stephen King "I am riveted, aghast, aroused, you name it. The rare instance when prose and plot are equally delicious." —Lena Dunham From debut author Caroline Kepnes comes You , one of Suspense Magazine 's Best Books of the Year, and a brilliant and terrifying novel for the social media age. When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card. There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she'll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a "chance" meeting. As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck's life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck's perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder. A terrifying exploration of how vulnerable we all are to stalking and manipulation, debut author Caroline Kepnes delivers a razor-sharp novel for our hyper-connected digital age. You is a compulsively readable page-turner that's being compared to Gone Girl , American Psycho , and Stephen King's Misery .
Publisher: 2014
ISBN: 9781476785615
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE eBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource
data file,rda

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
Bookworm1136
May 31, 2020

3 1/2 - 4 stars. I finished this thriller last night and I am still trying to decide how to rate the book and how to describe how I feel about it. It's a thriller about a serial killer/stalker written from the stalker's point of view. Joe is an obsessive kind of guy who falls for a woman who comes to his book store. Her name is Guinevere also known as Beck, but Joe just calls her "you". Joe spends a lot of time stalking her, online and in person and getting closer to Beck and removing any people in his way, until he becomes her boyfriend. The book is very sexual so if that's going to be offensive to you, be aware of it beforehand. And it's downright creepy at times- the lengths that Joe will go to. At times I found it a bit boring and at other times, I had to turn the pages to see what happened next. I am not sure if I would recommend it to anyone, but I am not sorry that I read it. I am quite torn about my feelings for this book, so I guess Kepnes did a good job.

l
laneyg85
Apr 29, 2020

Joe is working at a bookstore when one day in walks the smart and beautiful Beck, the girl of his dreams. He is immediately obsessed with her and pursues her, and not in what you would call a normal fashion. Joe is not your average guy and Beck is not your average girl, and Joe doesn't give up until he gets what he wants. I read this book before realizing that it actually got made into a tv show, and I was not surprised because it was really that good. Joe is an evil villain that you somehow still want to root for at times, especially knowing his past and how he is treated the way he is. The book was 432 pages but went so quick that it felt like it was only 200 pages and I still wanted more at the end. A true psychological thriller that did not disappoint, I would highly recommend.

xoxoviviveee Apr 27, 2020

Highly recommended reading if you're a fan of the TV show like me. The show did change some things, so it's interesting if you like spotting the differences. You will cringe when you dive into the mind of Joe.

p
PiepieB
Apr 11, 2020

Excellent and cleverly written. Perfect for fans of Peter Swanson. I highly recommend the Netflix series!

k
Katie_Dublin
Feb 10, 2020

Intriguing psychological thriller told from the villain's point of view. Joe is clearly evil, but I couldn't help rooting for him.

k
kifrankl9
Feb 09, 2020

I watched the Netflix show and loved it so much that I decided to read the book. Usually that is a no-no for me but I enjoyed the show that much. However, I did not enjoy the book at all. It was really slow. I stopped reading once I got to the 10th chapter. The book didn’t give you a real sense of the main character or his motivation for his behavior. I was hoping that the book would fill in some spots, but it didn’t.

v
violetkush
Oct 28, 2019

As well, I tried to read 10% of the book (a Stephen King recommendation (ON WRITING)) to determine how I felt about the book, and it is just a sorry excuse for some kinda stalker book. Terrible writing; I understand there’s a tone to be set........but doesn’t work. Is amateurish at best.

a
Alpha_zzz
Sep 10, 2019

I started this and couldn’t get through it. It is crude, crude, crude. I know we have a choice as to whether to pollute our minds with this vulgarity or not, and I chose not.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jun 27, 2019

The novel and now hit tv show on streaming platform Netflix, is without a doubt an uncomfortable read although it makes perfect sense as to why it would be. The details and thoughts of Joe Goldberg are explicit and grimy, delving into an endless cycle of grotesque thoughts. It's obvious the author tried to quickly delve into the mind of a sexually frustrated psychopath and goes without saying they did a top notch job at it. Time to time I would have to look at the authors name or her picture to remind myself that it was in fact written by a woman. The first person voice used in the book leaves room to be unapologetic about the thoughts the character is having no matter how invasive they are. Aside from the dialogues the plot is fresh and new, finally giving the new age of social media a relatable read. It's not cringe and doesn't make it too obvious the author only knows how to use Facebook. I would even consider it being a psychological thriller as the book does make you reconsider your social media habits. A warning though that if sexual harassment or any experience of stalking could trigger someone as its very graphic and detailed. @moonlightbae of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

j
jodoyle
May 06, 2019

Well I think I enjoyed this. It’s definitely not my cup of tea, but it was interesting. Joe’s perspective is just... something. He’s messed up. It was well written, and only had one part where it was kind of losing me for a bit. I did find the email preference a little unrealistic, and Beck’s relationships with other characters were a bit off (though I realize that was the point).

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
ambdizzle
Oct 14, 2019

You’re a butterfly and butterflies are free to fly, fly away, high away, bye-bye.

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“But the most important thing I know is that I want the possibility of you more than the reality of [her].”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“Talking to you is like traveling through time.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“Work in a bookstore and learn that most people in this world feel guilty about being who they are.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“I don't say anything. I know the power of silence. I remember my dad saying nothing and I remember his silences more vividly than I remember the things he said.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“The only thing crueler than a cage so small that a bird can’t fly is a cage so large that a bird thinks it can fly.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“If we were teenagers, I could kiss you. But I’m on a platform behind a counter wearing a name tag and we’re too old to be young.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 14, 2017

“The problem with books is that they end.”

Summary

Add a Summary
cathyf3 Apr 12, 2016

This book was a little long but once you start reading you have to know the ending. It is creepy and shows how easy it is to be targeted by a sociopath.Important to be aware and know where your stuff is. Joe is running a book store and this seems to be where he acquires his ladies. When he gets with Beck, she is as messed up as he is, and this gets her into trouble. I think I disliked Beck more than Joe. Beck was a user of people and situations. She was a slob and very irresponsible. With her possessions and others emotions. The section where Joe is training so he can kill Peach was scary, but would you really buy the story of a suicide where the person puts rocks in her pockets.
Joe turns out to be a serial killer of love.
Read and see what you think It would make a good movie.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top