Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
40
2
Rate this:
-- Wilhelm Gustloff. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Notcountry, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning -- Praise for -- New York Times "A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying--and little-known--moment in World War II history."--Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist -- School Library Journal, "Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful."-- -- -- New York Times "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."-- -- Kirkus * "Beautifully written and deeply feltan important book that deserves the widest possible readership."-- -- Speak From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York, NY :, Philomel Books,, 2016
ISBN: 9780698172623
0698172620
0399160302
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE eBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
Delia95
Oct 03, 2017

An excellent historical novel for YA. The author retells the personal history of many citizens catch up in the tragedies of WW11 through her wonderful selection of characters. Readers of all ages will want to know what happens to the 4 main characters of this well-written novel.

Vilka Sep 27, 2017

Short chapters (only 1-4 pages long) keep the story moving quickly, watching from the viewpoints of four young protagonists--a Lithuanian nurse with a guilty conscience, a Polish teenager hiding a secret, an evasive Prussian with false papers, and a low-ranking German sailor--as they try to escape the Soviet advance in 1945 and move towards what will be the greatest naval disaster in history. A moving account of ordinary people's experiences in wartime and the struggle for survival. The afterword includes an interesting list of books that the author used for research and inspiration.

CRRLKids Sep 26, 2017

This book read a lot like a Titanic survival story, maybe an I Survived read for an older audience. The first half of the book was a bit hard to keep track of as each chapter was narrated by a different character, but as you kept reading, how they connected to one another was made clearer. The second half of the book was a page turning, riveting thriller as each character has to decide whether they could trust one another as tragedy loomed near aboard the ship.

n
naguiar
Aug 24, 2017

This was an interesting and educational novel. Throughout I found the supporting characters to be infinitely more interesting than the main characters through the Shoe Poet, the Wandering Boy, Ingrid, and Eva. I could have happily gone without Florian's story entirely, and the book would have been significantly better without the ideas of romance. Otherwise, it was an emotional and well-written story I could see myself revisiting.

b
blue_bee_1863
Jul 27, 2017

This is a great book.
I don't particularly consider this book a romance because it's about tragic events. Though it does have some romantic parts I don't recommend for the readers in it for the romance.
Overall, this book captured my heart and made me cry. Emilia's death was something I couldn't let go. Her pregnancy and her baby was shocking but hurt when she was raped.
The death of Poet had me in tears as well.
I am most glad that Joana and Florian took it in their hands to care for them. Joana and Florian are a perfect example of what it feels like to strive for family. How to believe and trust. And to conclude, they couldn't resist the passion building up inside for each other. They are an example of how people held back feelings for others because they are scared they will lose them as well.
Poor families were killed and the blind were treated like dogs.
And as to conclude, I loved this novel.

k
Katrin19
Jul 26, 2017

Loved this book, the characters, the story, the short chapters kept me turning the pages.

d
darladoodles
Jul 20, 2017

Thank you, Ruta Sepetys, for giving a voice to those who were on the Wilhelm Gustloff. So many lives were lost in the Baltic Sea that winter, yet many of us know so much more about the war in France and Germany or the battles in the Pacific. The stories about these Baltic States and their intenable position between Germany and Russian forces has shaped who they are today.

I loved the shifting POVs in this book as they gave us a 360-degree view of the tragedy. The characters Sepetys creates for us, even the supporting ones are developed well. We feel like we know them. The reader feels Joanna's guilt, Florian's fate, Emilia's shame and Alfred's fear. As the story progresses they are soon all on the ship together and then tragedy strikes.

Cynthia_N Apr 13, 2017

Slow start for me with the multiple points of view but it quickly pulled me in. Powerful story based on true events!

h
happycanuck
Apr 03, 2017

Unusual and excellent book based on true events. Couldn't stop reading....yawn.

a
annphi
Mar 14, 2017

A powerful,heart wrenching novel that captures you and holds you until the bittersweet end. The depth of research that Sepetys is amazing and we should all be told of his tragic event, which has been overlooked for far too long. The characters are vivid and run the gamut of emotions. A must. must read !!!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

AL_MARYA Dec 31, 2016

“But unlike Mama, I would not go to heaven. My secrets padlocked the gates. I'd be a torn kite stuck in the dead branches of a tree, unable to fly.”

KindianaJones_VWML May 06, 2016

"The Fuhrer is a talented watercolorist. He applied to art school [...] but the school did not accept him. Oh, how they will regret it."

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top