Tehran at Twilight

Tehran at Twilight

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Friendship, betrayal, and international intrigue populate this brilliant novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.
Publisher: New York, New York : Akashic Books, 2014
ISBN: 9781617753336
1617753335
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE eBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
gendeg
Oct 28, 2014

The great thing about Tehran at Twilight is that it is a hard-nosed look at the Tehran underworld from the eyes of locals. The city comes alive in Abdoh's hands and he captures the machinations of all the special interests at play (and at war). As a no-frills genre read, it's pretty good. Abdoh manages to pack a lot of story into a slim book. Sadly, it doesn't have the complexity of your typical Le Carre book and lacks the lush prose that I crave, but I think that's the stoic, noir style coming through. Toward the end, the book reveals itself less as a traditional thriller and more as a prodigal-son-returns-home tour and quiet exploration of personal loyalties.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...
NWPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top