The Clockmaker's Daughter

The Clockmaker's Daughter

A Novel

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
53
10
2
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "An ambitious, compelling historical mystery with a fabulous cast of characters...Kate Morton at her very best." —Kristin Hannah " An elaborate tapestry...Morton doesn't disappoint ." — The Washington Post " Classic English country-house Goth at its finest ." and#8212; New York Post In the depths of a 19th-century winter, a little girl is abandoned on the streets of Victorian London. She grows up to become in turn a thief, an artist's muse, and a lover. In the summer of 1862, shortly after her eighteenth birthday, she travels with a group of artists to a beautiful house on a bend of the Upper Thames. Tensions simmer and one hot afternoon a gunshot rings out. A woman is killed, another disappears, and the truth of what happened slips through the cracks of time. It is not until over a century later, when another young woman is drawn to Birchwood Manor, that its secrets are finally revealed. Told by multiple voices across time, this is an intricately layered, richly atmospheric novel about art and passion, forgiveness and loss, that shows us that sometimes the way forward is through the past.
Publisher: 2018
ISBN: 9781451649437
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE eBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource
data file,rda

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
bookpusher
Aug 04, 2020

A little confusing with so many characters and eras, but I really liked it overall.

s
samsue
May 06, 2020

Exhausting to read with swift back & forth in time episodes that left me baffled. Gave up 1/3 of the way thru

a
amm3607
Apr 27, 2020

Loved this story! My favorite book I read this year. Intertwining stories and history made it interesting the whole way through.

k
kellykinss
Mar 22, 2020

I agree with previous comments that it was difficult to follow who the characters were, what time period they were in and how the story all tied together. The second half of the book is better, although I was disappointed with the ending and was still trying to sort out “what actually happened”.

f
finn75
Feb 07, 2020

I do enjoy Kate Morton's books. She spins stories from by gone eras that entertwine with the present day. This ghost story of a hot summer in the mid nineteenth century that goes badly wrong does jump around a bit before coming to its conclusion. An enjoyable read but perhaps the many characters and tangents did distract more than enhance the story.

l
libraryvol
Jan 16, 2020

A ghost story without the scary components. I love the way the author weaves together the full story through snippets of different eras and people.

CCPL_Laura Jan 11, 2020

I always enjoy Morton's novels, and this ambitious one was no exception! Birchwood Manor links all of the narrative threads together, a touchstone within this gorgeous novel that feels like coming home. From Elodie’s inquisitive nature to Edward’s creative passion, from Ada’s determination to Tip’s enchanting view of the world, Birchwood Manor will reel in the reader through it’s one connecting narrative voice: Birdie, a girl lost in time and history, who was there for all that happened that fateful summer. The Clockmaker's Daughter is a quietly vibrant novel about love, murder, mystery, loss, art, and the constant flowing river of time. Fans of Susanna Kearsley and Morton's earlier work will not be disappointed.

s
StrangelyExuberant
Dec 30, 2019

I haven't read this author before. I did like the book but I agree with many of the comments (in the Savy Reader group that I am in on FB that it was confusing.) I have read many books that jump around but I found with this one I would be reading and have to go back. Just because it switched with no clear line that it did switch. The ending was kind of anti-climatic. It left closure for one voice but all the others you are left wondering. From a lot of people in the Savy Reader group on FB I will be interested to try another book by this author in the future.

e
elyse0513
Dec 29, 2019

England prompt

s
Shaylaina
Dec 10, 2019

I love Kate Morgan. I didn't enjoy this story as much as her other books, but it was still good.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

“Human beings are curators. Each polishes his or her own favored memories, arranging them in order to create a narrative that pleases. Some events are repaired and polished for display; others are deemed unworthy and cast aside, shelved below ground in the overflowing storeroom of the mind. There, with any luck, they are promptly forgotten. The process is not dishonest: it is the only way that people can live with themselves and the weight of their experiences.” - p.60

c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

“Because before Mrs. Mack and the Captain there was my father, always looking for his second chance He was a clockmaker by trade, a master craftsman… ‘Each clock is unique,’ he used to tell me. ‘And just like a person, its face, whether plain or pretty, is but a mask for the intricate mechanism it conceals.” - p.64

c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

‘On Radcliffe’s headstone, in smaller text beneath his name, was written, Here lithe one who sought truth and light and saw beauty in all things, 1842-1882. Leonard found himself staring as he often did at the dash between the dates. Within that lichen-laced mark there lay the entire life of a man: his childhood, his loves, his losses and fears, all reduced to a single chiseled line on a piece of stone in a quiet churchyard at the end of a country lane. “ - p. 230

c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

“If you are to understand my brother…you must stop seeing him as a painter and start seeing him instead as a storyteller. It was his greatest gift. He knew how to communicate, how to make people feel and see and believe. The medium in which he chose to express himself was irrelevant. It is no easy feat to invent a whole world, but Edward could do that. A setting, a narrative, characters who live and breathe—he was able to make the story come to life in someone else’s mind. Have you ever considered the logistics of that…? The transfer of an idea? And, of course, a story is not a single idea; it is thousands of ideas, all working together in concert.”

“What she said was true. As an artist, Edward Radcliffe could transport people, so that they were no longer simply spectators of his work but participants, coconspirators in the realization of the world that he sought to create.” - pp. 239-40

c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

“Time only moved in one direction. And it didn’t stop. It never stopped moving, not even to let a person think. The only way back was in one’s memories.” - p. 315

c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

“Being a parent’s a breeze… No more difficult than flying a plane with a blindfold on and holes in your wings.” - p. 319

c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

“… Juliet wandered the perimeter observing the mottled headstones and contemplating the names and dates, the loving messages of eternity and rest. How remarkable that the human race valued the lives of its individual members sufficiently to commemorate each ones’s brief time on the ancient earth; and yet, at once, could engage in slaughter of the most meaningless and general kind.” - p. 327

c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

“Past, present, future—what did any of it mean, anyway? One could aim to do their best with the circumstances dealt them in the time given. That was all.” - p. 327

c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

“I wonder what Felix, with his lapel button of Abraham Lincoln and his wild predictions for the future, would make of all this. It is just as he said: the camera is ubiquitous. They all carry one now. Even as I watch, they traipse through the rooms of the house, pointing their devices at this chair or those tiles. Experiencing the world at one remove, through the windows of their phones, making images for later so that they do not need to bother seeing or feeling things now.” - p. 338

c
cknightkc
Oct 01, 2019

“People value shiny stones and lucky charms, but they forget that the most powerful talismans of all are the stories that we tell to ourselves and to others.” - p. 481

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top