One Story, One Song

One Story, One Song

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6

"The short pieces in One Story, One Song remind us of human beingsï?? place in the world: We are a part of it, not masters of it. And by sharing our stories we share ourselves. By listening to othersï?? stories, we share their lives and perhaps gain connections. One Story, One Song is all about connections, something we all need."
--Globe and Mail

In One Story, One Song, Richard Wagamese invites readers to accompany him on his travels. His focus is on stories: how they shape us, how they empower us, how they change our lives. Ancient and contemporary, cultural and spiritual, funny and sad, the tales are grouped according to the four Ojibway storytelling principles: balance, harmony, knowledge and intuition.

Whether the topic is learning from his grade five teacher about Martin Luther King, gleaning understanding from a wolf track, lighting a fire for the first time without matches or finding the universe in an eagle feather, these stories exhibit the warmth, wisdom and generosity that make Wagamese so popular. As always, in these pages, the land serves as Wagameseï??s guide. And as always, he finds that true home means not only community but conversation--good, straight-hearted talk about important things. We all need to tell our stories, he says. Every voice matters.

Publisher: Vancouver : Douglas & McIntyre, 2011
ISBN: 9781553655060
1553655060
Branch Call Number: 819.8 W121os
Characteristics: xii, 201 p. ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
g
gingerbeer
Jun 12, 2019

This is a beautifully written book full of humility, compassion and wisdom.

n
navaro
Dec 12, 2015

A deeply moving book, full of fact as well as story. This is history every Canadian should know in order to better understand the people who for hundreds of thousands of years loved and stewarded this land we live in today. We should know how and why their cultures have been destroyed. We have a spiritual debt to them, and much to learn from their beautiful culture.

smc01 Oct 19, 2013

Richard Wagamese is one of the best writers in Canada today. There is much to ponder and admire about his writing. For readers of Indian Horse, this book offers great background about the origins of that novel. The book's structure, organized around humility, trust, introspection and wisdom leave the reader with great admiration for native teachings.

b
becker
Jul 03, 2013

Short little segments giving us insights into the life and thoughts of a beloved Canadian writer. Don't miss this author's latest novel titled Indian Horse which is a really good story.

o
okbookgirl
Jan 23, 2012

Wise and thoughtful writing. Wagamese's writing cheers my heart - he sometimes writes about very difficult things, but the hope and patience for all humanity is there.

o
ownedbydoxies
Jun 25, 2011

This is a book of beautiful, thoughtful language where each page seems to contain an idea or an image that one wants to linger over and think about further. It's an important book about us as people, not us as any particular race, color or creed, but as people on the planet attempting to live authentic lives. It speaks of our collective and personal spirits and the value of focusing on those spirits and tending to our inner health. Really an amazing book of essays and one which I am adding to my home collection. It's a book one wants to thank the author for having written.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top