Shadow of Malabron : the Perilous Realm, Book One

Shadow of Malabron : the Perilous Realm, Book One

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
When Will, a rebellious teen, stumbles from the present into the realm where stories come from, he learns he has a mission concerning the evil Malabron and, aided by some of the story folk, he faces a host of perils while seeking the gateless gate that will take him home.
Publisher: Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2009
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9780763639112
Branch Call Number: TEEN FIC Wha
Characteristics: 382 p


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Apr 27, 2015

A fun, inventive start to a wonderful trilogy. Fans of Tolkien and Harry Potter will absolutely devour this book. Wharton effortlessly mixes his own mythologies with stories from around the world, creating an exciting mixture of the familiar and the novel.

JewelMcLatchy Nov 20, 2012

This is the incredible first book in a trilogy that reminds me of such epic tales as Lloyd Alexander's Prydain Chronicles, C.S. Lewis's the Chronicles of Narnia, The Dark is Rising sequence by Susan Cooper and other great sagas. Starts in a modern setting, but Will is transported to another world where all the stories we've been told exist as reality. Although classified as Young Adult, I'd say this is really for any reader age 9 and up.

Oct 21, 2012

sweet book! I own this one, and am just looking for the sequel. Anyone know what the sequel is?

May 22, 2012

This is such a good book! Will is a very typical teenager going through typical teen problems not to metion that he just lost his mom and then to top it of he gets lost in another world! I love it how the author combines many storys into one so that you pick up bits and pieces of other storys while the plot is still completely original

Oct 19, 2009

Perhaps meant more for younger readers, but still I thought the characters could use more depth. Good writing throughout, depictions of scenery and action were well done, not as good as previous books by this author.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Sep 13, 2012

imagineit thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

May 22, 2012

pookiebear thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Oct 19, 2009

Charlie68 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at NWPL

To Top