Under the Lemon Trees

Under the Lemon Trees

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A beautifully written debut novel of a young Indian woman struggling between embracing her heritage and fitting in as an American In Oak Grove, California, 1976, there are as many Sikh temples as Christian churches, the city council has prints announcements in both English and Punjabi and the large Indian immigrant community is gracefully coexists with the old farming families. But for 15-year-old Jeeto, figuring out where she fits best--and what she must do to find that fit--isn't so easy. Jeeto soon realizes that the women around her do far more than drink tea on balmy California afternoons--their traditions and religion give shape to fortune and destiny in a world of arranged marriages and strict family politics that force Jeeto to struggle with reconciling the possibilities of freedom and love. In the tradition of Jhumpa Lahiri and Arundhati Roy, Under the Lemon Trees is poised to speak to this same audience in an historically successful market. A stellar debut from an acclaimed writer, this is a story about finding love and discovering a true home while navigating traditions, family and faith--part Bend it Like Beckham , part Monsoon Wedding , this is a cultural and romantic tour de force.
Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2009
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780312379537
0312379536
Branch Call Number: FIC Back
Characteristics: 342 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number
  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top