Midnight for Charlie Bone

Midnight for Charlie Bone

Book - 2002
Average Rating:
15
5
2
Rate this:

Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Eva Ibbotson, Cornelia Funke's Inkheart and Shane Hegarty's Darkmouth.

An Academy for magic and special talents. A destiny unfulfilled. A secret legacy.

The first instalment of the international best-selling fantasy series from Jenny Nimmo starring Charlie Bone.

Since his father died, Charlie Bone has lived with his mother and her mother, in the house of his other grandmother, Grandma Bone. Looking at a picture of a couple with a baby and a cat, he suddenly discovers he can hear their voices. Although he tries to hide his new gift, Grandma Bone and her scary sisters soon find out, and send him to Bloor's Academy. Charlie quickly finds life at Bloor's pretty tough, with its strict rules and the malevolent head boy, Manfred, set against him. When Charlie discovers that the child in the photograph is being held, hypnotised, against her will, he and his new friends with 'gifts' try to awaken her. But can they overcome Manfred's sinister hypnotic gifts?

Have you collected all of the Charlie Bone books?

Midnight for Charlie Bone 

Charlie Bone and the Time Twister 

Charlie Bone and the Blue Boa 

Charlie Bone and the Castle of Mirrors 

Charlie Bone and the Hidden King 

Charlie Bone and the Wilderness Wolf 

Charlie Bone and the Shadow of Badlock 

Charlie Bone and the Red Knight 

Also look out for The Snow Spider trilogy.

'Dark, funny, crackling with magic' - author Artemis Cooper on Midnight for Charlie Bone

'A fast moving, dialogue driven romp with plenty of cliff-hangers for those first hooked into reading by Harry Potter' - Bookseller on Midnight for Charlie Bone

Jenny Nimmo is the acclaimed author of the Charlie Bone books for children. She has won several significant awards for her children's books, including the Nestle Smarties Book Prize and the Tir na n-Og Welsh Arts Council award for The Snow Spider. She lives in Wales with her husband, David.

 

Publisher: London: Egmont, 2002
ISBN: 9781405225434
0749718885
Branch Call Number: JUV FIC Nim
Characteristics: 345p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

hrhkatharine Jul 25, 2017

This is a great series for fans of Harry Potter!

t
tqrqtqrq
Mar 20, 2017

This is one of my 2 favourite series. I love it!!!!

h
Hafsa_HP_EXO1236
Jul 10, 2015

A wonderful concept and great plot with characters that are each distinct with something special that just adds to the interesting mix of this series! I recommend this to anyone who enjoys fiction, magical mystery and anyone who liked the Harry Potter series! <3

r
red_shark_528
Feb 11, 2015

Great series! I would definitely recommend it to people who like Harry Potter, for it has a similar story but different enough to be original.

7
7vic
Mar 20, 2014

one of my favourite books ever
:) :):):):):):):):):):):):)

l
Legomyeggo33
Jun 08, 2012

I love this book. The characters and the plot are fantastic. I would definitely recommend for readers to be patient if they got bored with this book since it gets more interesting as the series goes along (more characters to meet and more problems). Great read!

e
Engelmacher
Jan 05, 2012

The writing style is stilted and awkward sometimes, but the concept and characters are FANTASTIC. Recommended!

j
jlaha
Jan 05, 2012

My nine year old son really loves this series. After reading the Harry Potter and Percy Jackson series, he dove right into Jenny Nimmo's fantastic Charlie Bone series. He will be onto number 8 very soon. He also enjoys me reading it aloud, as well as reading it independently.

f
fumiaxana1998
Jun 25, 2011

Pretty good read as far as I am concerned but it can get a little cliche after a while. Overall ot is a very good book.

unreg_73315112 Sep 03, 2010

Great start to a fun series. Charlie Bone is an Endowed child with a very different power. He also has an interesting, and often dangerous, group of relatives.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

g
green_turtle_432
Jun 02, 2017

green_turtle_432 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 99 and 97

b
Blue_Cat_254
Aug 10, 2012

Blue_Cat_254 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 33

b
book_it
Jul 01, 2012

book_it thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

s
stjv
Apr 06, 2012

stjv thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

j
jarninfang
Jan 18, 2010

jarninfang thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

f
fumiaxana1998
Jun 26, 2011

This is the first book in the Charlie Bone series. Charllie Bone is a ten year old boy who lives with his mother. His father has dissapeared under mysterious circumstances. The book is about Charlie getting magical powers and him going to an academy for special children. In Bloor's Academy, Chalie meets some strange people who also have powers like him. This book has twists and turns you don't expect. It was a wonderful read.

KidsLit Dec 14, 2009

Ten yr old Charlie Bone doesn’t realize he’s inherited his family’s magical powers until one day he hears the conversation of people in a photograph. When his nasty Grandma Bone and evil aunts discover his gift they immediately enrole him in Bloor’s Academy-a school for gifted and magical students.
Charlie is soon embroiled in a magical adventure that will hopefully take him one step closer to finding out what happened to his dad.
This series features a cast of wonderful characters.
Manfred Bloor-nasty head-boy who can hypnotize anyone foolish enough to look him in the eye
Gabriel Silk-a friend of Charlie’s who can ‘hear’ what clothes have to say (like the time Charlie’s missing dad’s tie told him he wasn’t dead-just ‘lost’)
Billy Raven-An orphaned boy, neither nor evil, who can speak with animals

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top