Carter Beats the Devil

Carter Beats the Devil

A Novel

Book - 2001
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
An amazing, richly evocative novel of magic and history in the tradition of E. L. Doctorow and Caleb Carr.America in the 1920s was a nation obsessed with magic. Not just the kind performed in theaters and on stages across the country, but the magic of technology, science, and prosperity. Enter Charles Carter -- a.k.a. Carter the Great -- a young master performer whose skill as an illusionist exceeds even that of the great Houdini. Fueled by a passion for magic that grew out of desperation and loneliness, Carter has become a legend in his own time. His thrilling act involves outrageous stunts carried out on elaborate sets before the most demanding audiences. But the most outrageous stunt of all stars none other than President Warren Harding and ends up nearly costing Carter the reputation he worked so hard to create. Filled with historical references that evoke the excesses and enthusiasm of postwar, pre-Depression America, Carter Beats the Devil is the complex and illuminating story of one man's journey through a magical -- and sometimes dangerous -- world, where illusion is everything, and everything is illusory.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Hyperion : 2001
ISBN: 9780786867349
0786867345
Branch Call Number: FIC Gold
Characteristics: 483p

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Books I Love
marian_librarian Nov 26, 2010

This is an intricately woven tale of an illusion artist who just might have saved the U.S. from disastrous scandal in the early twentieth century.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
hippo12
Feb 21, 2013

Period detail and magicians brought wonderfully to life.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number
  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top