Cay

Cay

Book - 1969
Average Rating:
9
6
1
Rate this:
For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor's classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay .
Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Cura#65533;ao. War has always been a game to him, and he's eager to glimpse it firsthand-until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.
When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother's warning about black people: "They are different, and they live differently."
But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip's head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.

"Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story...The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book...The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon."-- New York Times Book Review

"A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation...At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile--as Timothy would say, 'outrageous good.'"-- Kirkus Reviews

* "Fully realized setting...artful, unobtrusive use of dialect...the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children's literature."-- School Library Journal , Starred

"Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling."-- Saturday Review

"A tense and moving experience in reading."-- Publishers Weekly

"Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man."-- Booklist

"This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe ."-- The Washington Star

#65533; A New York Times Best Book of the Year
#65533; A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
#65533; A Horn Book Honor Book
#65533; An American Library Association Notable Book
#65533; A Publishers Weekly Children's Book to Remember
#65533; A Child Study Association's Pick of Children's Books of the Year
#65533; Jane Addams Book Award
#65533; Lewis Carroll Shelf Award
#65533; Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award
#65533; Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award
#65533; Woodward School Annual Book Award
#65533; Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Doubleday, 1969
ISBN: 9780385079068
Branch Call Number: JUV FIC Tay
Characteristics: 137p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jmbenjamins
Jun 09, 2016

Fantastic book! Loved it and keeps you always wanting to read the next chapter! My favorite book of the whole school year! I don't get why others didn't like it, it's great! A must read!

rollingstock Apr 02, 2014

Only 147 pages so come on now, how painful can that be? I read it in a few hours and enjoyed it. It is what it is, a short story.

red_wolf_208 Jul 16, 2013

Great Book, a must read ;)
Don't understand how peope may not like this but oh well. If you are looking for a book to read this is for you!

w
Wolfgirl1189
Mar 05, 2013

Sorry but I HATED this book and we HAD to read it for school. I was like IS THIS DONE YET?????!!!! EVERY CHAPTER!

n
Nicoletams
Jul 13, 2012

I fell asleep reading this book! I hated it a lot, but HAD to read it for school. Out of my whole class of 32 kids, ONE KID liked it. The storyline was okay, but definitely could've been better. I felt myself saying, "Okay, you only have twenty more pages left, you can do this, and then you won't ever have to see this book again."

v
virginiacityswell
Feb 23, 2012

I remember reading this book when I was in the 4th grade. I can still recall parts of it all these years later. I'm glad to see it's still in print.

f
fuzzyskull
Feb 23, 2012

We read this book as a class novel and it is amazing! It is a tragic story of a boy living in the Caribbean and sets off at sea with his mother. When suddenly the ship gets torpedoed! He has to survive on a flimsy raft with a tiny bit of chocolate for food and a small amount of water. I rate this story 5 stars because it is a great book for all ages and plus it is a classic. I would also recommend reading another classic called The Hatchet. I am only on chapter six, but is starts getting really good before chapter two!

s
Sophie11099
Apr 23, 2011

We're reading this as a class novel study right now and I'm really not enjoying it. This book has almost too many details for my liking.

s
Swede52
Dec 02, 2010

This is the first book that I remember falling in love with as a kid. It was recommended by my aunt who was a 5th grade teacher. I could no put it down once I started, it's the story of Phillip, a boy living on the island of Curacao off the island of Venezuela during World War II. As he and his mother are trying to escape the war and head back to their home in Virginia. The ship they are riding on sinks. Phillip survives the boat accident only to be trapped on an island with a black man and a cat. The accident leaves Phillip blind. Not only does he have to learn adjust ot his blindness, but he must learn to survive on the barren island in the Caribbean Sea. This book gives the reader a better understanding of how to survive.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

red_bird_2475 Jul 22, 2014

red_bird_2475 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

JESSICA SI JIA ZHANG thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

n
Nicoletams
Sep 11, 2012

Nicoletams thinks this title is suitable for 99 years and over

violet_cat_1889 Jun 30, 2012

violet_cat_1889 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 30

g
green_bird_714
May 21, 2012

green_bird_714 thinks this title is suitable for 99 years and under

s
Sophie11099
Apr 23, 2011

Sophie11099 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 11

Quotes

Add a Quote

f
FrozenJ2001
Jul 31, 2015

When I am older I will find that Cay and say "Dis be dat outrageous Cay, Eh Timothy?"

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NWPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top